A Perfect Paladin

Rebel Belle

Rebel Belle
by Rachel Hawkins
Series: Rebel Belle #1
Publisher: Putnam Juvenile
Published: April 8th 2014
Genre: Young adult, romance, fantasy
Date read: June 14th 2014
My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

“Look at him. Whole life turned upside down, and he’s in there making pizza rolls.”

For the last couple of weeks, I’ve seen this cover everywhere. On the internet, that is. Again, the cover pulled me towards it, and I decided, “Fine. I’ll read this book sometime soon”. So after Eleanor & Park, I picked up the book and start reading it. Rebel Belle revolves around Southern belle, Harper Price. Harper is shown to be the perfect girl who is good at everything she does. She is SGA president, head cheerleader, homecoming queen and easily a top student. This is soon flipped upside down when she suddenly gets superpowers literally blown into her, forcing her to fulfill a destiny she’s unsure she wants, setting her relationships with her boyfriend and close friends in at risk.

[SPOILER ALERT!]

The characters:
Harper Price: I have really mixed feelings about Harper. I like her, but at the same time not. I feel like she’s one of those friends everybody have, that you really love, but can really bug you off, big time. I like how she’s always thinking about her parents. How she can’t die, not because she doesn’t want to (well who does) but because that would crush her parents. She’s conciderate, but sometimes very ignorant. Exhibit A: When David and her takes Blythe into their car, intending to drive her back to Pine Grove after Blythe has told them about her ability to poof in and out of places. They just put her in the backseat and not only do they not sit with her, they don’t even look to see if she’s there occasionaly. They just drive all the way back and not even notice that she’s gone until way too late. Smh… Exhibit B: The excuses. She is extremely bad at coming up with excuses. Even basic one that everyone should be able too. I think it’s actually to the point where it’s ridiculous and exaggerated.
However, I praise her for being such a good friend and daughter, as well as commited. I see how much she loves Bee and I hope that they’ll be rejoined again sooner rather than later. Despite disliking her perfectionism, I do envy her commitment to everything she does.
David Stark: The case with David is that I really couldn’t predict how he was going to be. Sure, I knew the first moment during the bathroom scene that he would be the one Harper must protect, and that they would end up together. But I didn’t know how he would turn out. How he would be, or act. His perosnality, basically. Everything is from Harper’s POV, and according to her, he was a mean, fashion-bombed, sleezeball. Despite knowing they would end up together, I didn’t know how. Because from my perspective, it didn’t really seem that he did all he did because he liked her. But I’m happy with the outcome. I felt sometimes he was very easy to shook, but he seems to have things under control, better than I would’ve expected from him, at least.
Saylor Stark: I originally didn’t like Saylor. She seemed like such a witch, and I didn’t think that she was any conciderate or anything either. But the more I got to know her, the more I liked her. She really loved David and she loved him for him, not because it was her job to protect the Oracle. I didn’t want her to die, but they did something big about her death and I can’t really complain.
Ryan Bradshaw: I feel so bad for this guy. He seems like such a good guy. A typical high school-popular-nice-guy. I think he felt very left behind because of Harper’s schedules and craziness, and even though it was unevitable, I really didn’t want him to get heartbroken. I knew that Harper would end up with David, but I didn’t know that it would be even worse that he now was bound to David and Harper forever. I didn’t see that coming at all,a dn I just hope that he’ll find a good girl. (NOT(!) Mary Beth, but a decent good girl (maybe Bee)). I also think their breakup scene would’ve been more than just that. It deserved more depht. Although Ryan seemed sad, Harper seemed to not really care at all. Just “yeah. sure.” *nodd nodd*. They deserved more. Just saying, Hawkins.

The plot:
I disliked the book. Well, not really disliked, but I didn’t really like it as much as I had thought that I would. At the beginning, the whole thing seemed quite interesting. It’s not everyday you read about a top student get locked up with a janitor wounded by a scimitar inside the girl’s bathroom and later on kill her history teacher. That seemed interesting enough. So I read on.
Then everything kind of fell down on me. I didn’t quite like Harper. On one hand, she’s this bright girl, getting mostly top grades, then there’s the part where she just seems so… dumb. First of all, Harper sucked at coming up with excuses. Which sometimes is funny, while other times just… No. Harper, no. Even my little brother could’ve thought of a better excuse. On the other hand, it was the thing about keeping everything perfect, which really bugged me a lot of times. I understand that she reach for perfection because of her sister’s accident. But it felt more like she did it for the facade. Maybe it’s a personal case, since I’ve always hated when people lived for their facades, rather than prioritize themselves. Sigh…
The whole David-Harper situation was pretty obvious. I easily predicted that she would be protecting David, our Oracle, and that she would definitely end up with him, romantically, as well. This was one of the things that made me rather dislike the book a bit. I didn’t want her to have to end her relationship with Ryan. It felt like a The Hunger Games situation again, with the boy she seemed to be perfect with, and then comes the boy who she’s destined to be with. Well. Can’t blame me for thinking that was very predictable. Although I now accept her with David, I still want Ryan to be with someone else, and absolutely not Mary Beth. Hook up with Bee for all I care, I don’t really fancy Brandon anyways. (Sorry dude. Too many muscle, too few brain cells.)
The ending, oh my Zeus, I was so positively suprised by it! I didn’t see it coming at all! After predicting most of the plot during the first and middle part, I was glad something unexpected showed up. It was good enough that I didn’t give up on the series after all. So now I’m just sitting here anticipating what’s going to happend next. The way Harper and David just gets down to the kitchen and see Ryan, sitting next to Saylor. I just propped right up and screamed NO WAY! My sister just gave me a weird look. Ignoring her, I read forward and saw that what I predicted was right; Ryan is the new Mage. Which meant, Harper, David and Ryan would now be working together. TIED TOGETHER BY DESTINY. Holy shit. I can’t even express how much I love-hate this right now. I feel bad for Ryan, seeing that he really loved Harper, but they were right, breaking up was the best. But now he had to watch Harper and David together. Oh my Zeus. What a poor fella. I still hope he ends up with Bee or something. I really dislike Mary Beth.

Favorite parts:
Despite being against the breakup of Ryan and Harper, I actually loved the kiss scene between Harper and David, mainly because it’s so sweet that he just “had to.” And as if it acted like a motivation to not die that night. I don’t know, I just liked it a lot. Haha

All in all: 
Recommendation: I was tacken aback because I didn’t read the sypnosis for this book or anything. I just went head first into the book and suddenly, there was fantasy involved. But despite my dislikes at the beginning and all that, I do recommend this purely because of the end.
My rating: 4 out of 5 stars (the ending absolutely saved it from recieving 3 stars)

UP NEXT: The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

– Ellen

2 thoughts on “A Perfect Paladin

  1. Pingback: Unfinished business | Little Big Library

  2. Pingback: Unfinished business | The Wanderlust Reader

Tell me what you think!

