The silence

Note: This will only be a brief review.

147865Love, Rosie
by Cecelia Ahern
Series: N/A
Publisher: Hyperion
Published: December 1st 2006
Genre: Young adult, contemporary, romance
Date read: June 9th 2014
My Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

“You should be with someone who could make you happy, really happy, dancing on air happy.”

Some time ago, I saw the teaser for the upcoming film “Love, Rosie”, based on Cecelia Ahern’s book with the same name (US edition, originally titled “Where Rainbows End” in the UK). Being the book nerd that I am, I had to pick up the book and read it before the film hits the theaters. The book takes you through Rosie Dunne and Alex Stewart’s life, starting from the age of 7, until the old ages of 50. I must admit, I did not see that coming. Neither had I ever read a book where it’s time span was that long. Anyways, Rosie and Alex are a couple of best friends who (of course) has the feelings for each other. However, because of a long and torturing course of misfortune, they seem to never get the chance to fully admit it to each other.
[SPOILER ALERT!]

The characters:
Rosie Dunne: This lady, right here, must be one of the most stubborn, yet strong woman I’ve ever read about. She’s full of pride, yet keeps her shit together with such grace. Well, almost with grace. Rosie goes through so much throughout this whole book, and I don’t think I’ve ever read about such an ill fated person. Having her best friend moving away at 16, having a kid at 18, leading to her not being able to attend college, then getting cheated on by her husband, twice, and then loses her job? She sure as heck goes through a handful of misfortunes. Although I wish she would’ve divorced that low life son of a shit after the first time he was unfaithful, I do envy this woman’s strength. Katie also turned out great. So… She didn’t do too bad.
Alex Stewart: I always wished that I’d have a guy best friend. Since forever. And Alex seemed just like the perfect best friend. Although he should’ve known Rosie enough to know when something was wrong, and vice versa. He too was stupid during his first two marriages. Like seriously, you married someone you don’t love because you impregnated her? Stupidity at its best. Just saying.
Ruby: This woman. This woman is so damn funny. I have a cousin who’s personality resembles  hers a bit and it’s so hilarious to read the conversation between her and Rosie. And the fact that she and her son won those prizes for their dances was just plain awesome.

The plot:
First of all, the format of this story is incredibly awesome. Everything is being told through letters and emails and chats and texts and so on. It’s quite unique. There were times I wondered what was happening between the messages, but it was alright. I do love the idea of sending letters and emails.
Then there was the ill-fated love story. Holy cow, these two are really oddly meant for each other. In a way, they symbolize the, unrealistic, strength love can have. But on the other hand, they did make it, finally, at age 50. I guess you can just say that the quote about setting the one you love free and they will return if it’s really meant to be, really does apply here.

All in all: 
Recommendation: I would recommend this for those who likes romance and chick-lit. It was a bit repetitive and frustrating. So you’re warned.
My rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

UP NEXT: The Mortal Instrument by Cassandra Clare

PS: I’ve been reading the whole series and are about to finish City of Heavenly Fire… So bear with me. The next review will be of all the six, fat, books.

– Ellen

2 thoughts on “The silence

  1. I really enjoyed Where Rainbows End. Yeah at times it was a bit repetitive but it was really funny and sweet! I think the film will probably be a bit different but I’m looking forward to watching it all the same!

    Like

Tell me what you think!

