Across the globe

Geography of You and Me, The - Jennifer E. Smith

The Geography of You and Me
by Jennifer L. Smith
Series: N/A
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Published: April 15th 2014
Genre: Young adult, contemporary, romance
Date read: September 4th 2014
My Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

“The most basic sort of love: to be worried about the one who was worrying about you.”

I always say that turning 18 isn’t making anything different. But I’m wrong. Especially in the reading front. Okay, so reading about younger characters makes me want to slap them when they’re acting their age; maybe I changed a bit. Seriously though, I really didn’t think it would be such difference, but I changed. And I noticed that while I read this book. I cringed wrinkled my nose at some of the parts. As I always, I do wish the best for the characters, as in, that they will stay together. Forever. But well, I guess I’m quite hypocrite.

This story is about Owen and Lucy, two young adults who meet during a blackout in the city that never sleeps. Through this encounter, they get to know each other until they are pulled apart to two different continents. They stay in touch, but it isn’t easy with distance and time difference.

[SPOILER ALERT!]

The characters:
Lucy Patterson: Lucy seems like the typical NYC girl who loves her homecity. Which I also would, if I actually lived in NYC. I like how she seems like an independent girl who can do well by herself without her parents and brothers. In a way, she is cliché; getting so smitten by a guy she hardly knows etc, but she seems sweet and I guess I would love a friend like her.
Owen Buckley: I’ve read about a lot of perfect boys in books. I mean, the perfect trio by Stephanie Perkins (St. Clair, Cricket and Josh) kind of dulls out other boys for me. So I can’t really blame Owen for not making it on my list, I do have high expectations. But he do seem like a good guy whom I would maybe fall for in real life, although he seems like someone who’s hard to talk to. I don’t fancy those types… But he does get points for being such a romantic when it comes to his girlfriends. I like a boy who knows how to plan.

The plot: During a blackout in New York City, Owen and Lucy are stuck together in an elevator at their building. Because of this, they get to know each other and spends the rest of the day together, in her apartment, on the darkened New York City and the roof of their building.
The beginning of the story was adorable. I like how they spend the day together in the darkness, sticking together when the whole city was in a big, pitchblack mess. When I went into this book, I expected to hear about their distance relationship. This expectation was peaked when Lucy were to move to London/Edinburgh and Owen moving somewhere west. But then the story began revolving more about their personal developement; how they accustomed to the new enviroments and grew as individuals. Even though I loved the old-school-postcard-thing, I didn’t love it enough to really be so smitten by it and forget the lack of the story. I felt the plot was quite flat and lacked some tensions or at least a dilemma that maybe the protagonists needed to solve. Of course, they did live in different continents, but most of the time, it didn’t really seem as though they cared about it, or even slightly bothered. Owen got a girlfriend, and Lucy got a boyfriend. And neither worked out. What a suprise. It just wasn’t my cup of tea I guess.
I did like the plot. But I feel like it had a lot of potential and could use some more touchups.

All in all: 
Recommendation: This book is a bit slow. And flat. I don’t know, I don’t feel like it deserves 4 full stars. But it is cute, and light-hearted so I give it a strong 3.5 stars.
My rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

UP NEXT: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

– Ellen

One thought on “Across the globe

  1. Pingback: #BookBlogWriMo Day 11 – #Top10Tuesday Most Popular Posts | The Wanderlust Reader

Tell me what you think!

