Beautiful, privileged and damaged

18339662

We Were Liars
by E. Lockhart
Series: N/A
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Published: January 1st 2014
Genre: Young adult, contemporary, mystery, romance
Date read: September 8th 2014
My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

“Always do what you’re afraid to do.”

When I picked up this book, I had no expectation. Okay maybe I thought this was going to be relatively good since it’s been so popular among the booktube community. But I didn’t really know what it was about, whether it was a tragic cutesy book (judged by the cover), or a crime solving book. So I picked it up, and I read. And read, and read, and read. And when I finished, I was splattered everywhere. This book, this book, I don’t know what to do with it now.

The story mostly takes place on Beechwood Island, owned by Cadance Sinclair Eastman’s grandfather, Harris Sinclair, set in Cape Cod. Every summer, the whole “Sinclair Family” goes there and spends their summer swimming in the beach, playing tennis tournaments and eat delicious food cooked by the staff. They are the Sinclairs, no one is a criminal, no one is an addict, no one is a failure. No one is needy, no one is wrong. But they are beautiful, privileged, damaged and liars.
[SPOILER ALERT!]

The characters:
The Liars: The Liars; Cady, Johnny, Mirren and Gat. I love the bonding they developed through the summers they spent together. Although, I do wonder why they are called “The Liars”, I think it’s kind of cool that they actually have a bond that goes so deep that they would do anything for one another. Specially when they did what they did during summer fifteen. I was so shattered after reading it because I could just feel the pain Cady seemed to feel. Imagine remembering everything when you just wouldn’t remember for two years. It just seems so horrible. The dynamic between the Liars was amazing. They somehow just functioned so good together. I don’t really know what more I could say about this…

The plot: As stated above, I threw myself into this book without really knowing what it was about. But already at the first few chapters, I felt the miserable aura looming above. The way her star-crossed love with Gat was displayed, the way the family was so shattered; everything seemed so tragic. So when continue reading and the whole mystery about summer fifteen was being mentioned, I was really intrigued and was excited to find out what happend. So when everything started to unfold, starting with the houses, the aunts’ fights, then furthermore with the dogs and lastly about the Liars’ death, I was captivated beyond saving. I read and read for hours during the last part and burst out crying when she finally found out about how they had burnt down the Clairmont hourse (the main house where the grandparents lived) as a symbol to show that Granddad Harris didn’t have all the power like he would like to think. The thought is there. I understand their train of thoughts, but seriously. That was some stupid execution of their plans; who the hell ignites a flame from on different floors at the same damn time. I weep for the Liars. Damn…
Anyways… Everything kind of was put together at last and made sense when Cadence finally remembers summer fifteen. That the other liars had died and that she was the only survivor. Throughout the book from when she finally gets back to the island, she meets them all the time at Cuddledown. She kept thinking that they were keeping her out and lying to her. Especially Gat, who kept wanting to get together with her, but at the same time not. Everything seemed so iffy and out of space, not to mention confusing. When she finally remembered, they left. She came down to Cuddledown for the last time and told them that she remembered; that she finally understands why they never responded to the emails she had sent during the summers she wasn’t on the island, that she understand why Gat and her never could be together. She understood everything. With a smile, they all ran into the water and just simply disappeared. And this just left me sobbing my eyes and heart out.

All in all: 
Recommendation: Throughout the book, I felt miserable. Really. But it was good, and new. I would recommend this for those who is looking for a less cutesy “happily ever after” type of contemporary.
My rating: 4 out of 5 stars

UP NEXT: TBA

– Ellen

3 thoughts on “Beautiful, privileged and damaged

  1. Pingback: #BookBlogWriMo Day 11 – #Top10Tuesday Most Popular Posts | The Wanderlust Reader

  2. Pingback: #BookBlogWriMo Day 13 – My Review Process | The Wanderlust Reader

  3. Pingback: Goodbye 2014, Hello 2015 – End of the year survey | The Wanderlust Reader

Tell me what you think!

