#BookBlogWriMo Day 2 – How I Read

On day 2 of #BookBlogWriMo, it’s all about how you read.

Format – paperback | hardcover | e-book (eReader, smart phone etc.)
Those who know me well, know that I would pick hardcover over paperback every day. Seriously, they just last longer. And I don’t need to worry about bent covers or broken spines. Really, who can stand that stuff??!?!

Despite loving hardcovers, I would actually get the books I want to read as ebooks, and put them in the Kobo app on my iPad mini. Just like that, I can avoid the extra weight from the book, as well as more space for other crap that I carry around with me. And also, the Kobo app is amazing with its incredible features.

img_7070 (Disclaimer: I am in no way paid to say this. I just simply love Kobo <3)

One of these is the highlighting feature. It’s so convenient when I want to highlight something I find funny or sad or just simply quotable. Absolutely love it!

Reading – bookmarks | note taking | highlighting
No no. Not a chance in hell if I’m going to write in my precious books! I’m the type that would bite your arm off if you abuse my books in any way. I’m hella strict when it comes to borrowing it. Once I walked around with my cousin’s book in a plastic bag before putting it in my bag because I was scared something would happen to it. I treat books like that. It’s my puppy, my baby, my preeeecious.

As said above, I do like highlighting. But never in the physical books. NEVER. If I have to highlight, it’ll have to be in the Kobo app. Same goes for note taking. Although, I’m not really the note taking type of reader. If I read, I read. No writing here.. hehe.

Other reading rituals
I love drinking tea or coffee while I read. Or simply something hot. Also, if there are snacks nearby, I’ll eat it. Maybe even unconsciously. But initially, I’m not the type that needs all that jazz when I read. I can actually read so intensely that I don’t even notice that I haven’t eaten for several hours. Not exactly the healthiest habit.

Another reading ritual of mine is laying in the most unflattering position ever, whether it’s on the couch, my reading corner, or even the bed. I don’t know why, but when I lay in weird positions, I just read more comfortably.

One thought on “#BookBlogWriMo Day 2 – How I Read

  1. Pingback: Introducing #BookBlogWriMo! | The Wanderlust Reader

Tell me what you think!

