#BookBlogWriMo Day 6 – #TBT Favorite Childhood Books

I guess I’ll get a bit nostalgic with today’s #BookBlogWriMo, where I’m throwing it all the way back to my favorite childhood books!

When I was little, I didn’t really read a lot. I had a couple of Disney classics that I read. You know, the 101 Dalmatians, and other fairytales and such. After this, I had different reading “eras”, which I will be splitting this post up in, to make it perhaps easier.

The “elementary school” era

After that, in elementary school, I read a little now and then when I felt like it, or when I had to. I read a couple of dectective books, some girly books and well. I was still not really interested. However in 4th grade, I remember finishing my very first novel. (That is, if I remember correctly.) It was Mathilda by Roald Dahl. I read a bit every day, and I loved it so much. So when we saw the movie at school, I even loved it more.

The “Harry Potter” era

Mathilda was however the last book I really read, that I can remember, before 6th grade came around, and I started to read *drum rolls* the Harry Potter series by the one and only J.K. Rowling! My friends at the time had already read them, and I was the new kid in school, (well, I transfered school in the middle of 5th grade, so I was still relatively new) so I felt maybe I should give it a try. And boy, did that change my relationship with reading forever. I quickly finished the book within a month or two. I even remember having to read with the light from my little Nokia phone from back then, and hiding the book under my pillow, which wasn’t really comfortable to sleep on. During the 6th book, I remember reading Dumbledore’s death right after waking up. I was still in bed and just cried rivers.

Anways. Reading the Harry Potter series triggered an interest for reading that I didn’t know that I had. Not that I read that much after Harry Potter, but I was drawn into this community of HP-fans that I still love today. Harry Potter was and always will be a significant part of my life.

The “Twilight” era

A couple of months after reading Harry Potter, the Twilight movie came out. Since Robert Pattinson had played Cedric in Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, I felt intrigued to watch this new vampire movie with him in the lead. This started a whole different era, that I’m simply going to call the Twilight era. I’d like to think that I was the first one at my school to really read the Twilight series. I purchased the whole series after watching the film (which I think I watched five or six times at the movies). I was a huge fan of the actors/actresses and my life revolved around Twilight.

This era lasted throughout the 8th grade. When the 9th grade came around, my love for Twilight had diminished a bit. Despite this, I still made it a big point to go watch the movies on the premiere day. This actually led me to develope a beautiful friendship with one of my closest friends today.

The “Greek Mythology” era

I think you can guess what books I’m talking about. Yep, if you guessed Percy Jackson & the Olympians by Rick Riordan, you were correct. I don’t really remember the circumstances that led me to read the series, but I think it was because I saw the movie, and I loved it. So I started to read the first series, and this was around 9th grade, I think. Maybe 10th. Then afterwards, I started reading the second series that was also about greek mythology, which you may know is The Heroes of Olympus serie. This one, I mentioned in a previous post from last week about unfinished series, that I still haven’t read the last two books. I will soon though. Promise.

The “Distopian” era

In 2012, before the first movie came out, I read The Hunger Games serie by Suzanne Collins. I never really felt like the type to read dystopian books, but these books were so incredible and action filled. I don’t know why, but I just loved it.

The thing is, the timeline is actually that I read Percy Jackson & the Olympians, then The Hunger Games, then The Heroes of Olympus, before reading my next dytopian serie; Divergent. Now, I didn’t actually read Divergent by Veronica Roth until earlier this year, after watching the movie. My first year in high school was too stressfull, which led me to not actually have time to read. So when I picked up the serie, it felt good to read again. But Allegiant made me suffer big time, so this led to a new era again.

The “young adult contemporary” era

After Allegiant, I had to read something mood-lifting, loveydover and happy-ending-guaranteed. So my cousin recommended Anna and the French Kiss by Stephenie Perkins. I loved the book so much that I went straight to the next book. After these, I felt an urge to read more contemporary, so I picked up Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I felt such connection with the book that it also became one of my favorite of all time.

I feel like I’ve written too much, but all the books mentioned here have been on my favorite list at one point or another (or still is), although there’s many more that I haven’t mentioned. These books have shaped me somehow, and played an important role in my adolcence. They mean a lot to me and well. What more is there to say?

Thanks for reading the whole thing, I know it got really long.

– Ellen

2 thoughts on “#BookBlogWriMo Day 6 – #TBT Favorite Childhood Books

  1. Pingback: Introducing #BookBlogWriMo! | The Wanderlust Reader

  2. Pingback: #BookBlogWriMo Day 11 – #Top10Tuesday Most Popular Posts | The Wanderlust Reader

Tell me what you think!

